The Chain of Transmission within a Sufi order is of central importance in the Sufi work. It is a major conduit of the baraka of any genuine Sufi school, and links the mureeds of that order with the combined spiritual power of their spiritual antecedents and with the unseen transformative forces that transpire behind the outward manifestation of the Chain, which is called the Silsila (“chain” or “pedigree”). The Silsila is recited at pivotal occasions such as the group Dhikr of the order, or at initiations. Working backward, experientially contacting and effacing oneself in each being in the chain is considered a necessary development of the practice known as Tasawwuri Murshid.


The representation of the chain of transmission is called the Shajara (tree). The Shajara which appears here is that of Hazrat Pir-o-Murshid ‘Inayat Khan, who was, in fact, initiated into the four major Sufi lineages in India. It is worth noting that at any juncture, there may be several shaykhs authorized to carry on a lineage. A Shajara is a tracing of initiatic ancestry rather than a representation of the full flow of baraka from the Source. Pir Zia has given a number of talks on the Shajara and is the author of the booklet The Chishti Silsila of Pir-o-Murshid Inayat Khan, (2001) detailing what is known about the lives and works of these illustrious figures. Tapes of these talks and the booklet can be ordered through the North American Secretariat.

On Visalat Day, February 5, 2018, Pir Zia issued a declaration including Pirzadi Noor-un-Nisa Inayat Khan in the Silsila of the Inayati Order (see below).  For more information about Noor, please see our History page.

This is the Silsila as we recite it at Zikr in our community:

  • Hazrat Khwaja Muhammad Rasul Allah
  • Hazrat Khwaja ‘Ali Wali Allah
  • Hazrat Khwaja Hasan Basri
  • Hazrat Khwaja ‘Abd al-Wahid bin Zayd
  • Hazrat Khwaja Fuzayl bin ‘Ayaz
  • Hazrat Khwaja Ibrahim Adham
  • Hazrat Khwaja Huzayfa Mar’ashi
  • Hazrat Khwaja Hubayra Basri
  • Hazrat Khwaja Mumshad ‘Ulu Dinwari
  • Hazrat Khwaja Abu Ishaq Shami
  • Hazrat Khwaja Abu Ahmad Abdal Chishti
  • Hazrat Khwaja Abu Muhammad Chishti
  • Hazrat Khwaja Abu Yusuf Chishti
  • Hazrat Khwaja Qutbuddin Mawdud
  • Hazrat Khwaja Hajji Sharif Zindani
  • Hazrat Khwaja ‘Usman Harvani
  • Hazrat Khwaja Mu‘inuddin Hasan Sanjari-Ajmiri
  • Hazrat Khwaja Qutbuddin Bakhtiyar Kaki
  • Hazrat Khwaja Fariduddin Mas‘ud Ganj-i Shakar Ajhodani
  • Hazrat Khwaja Nizamuddin Mahbub-i Ilahi Badauni
  • Hazrat Khwaja Nasiruddin Chiragh Dihlavi
  • Hazrat Shaykh al-Masha’ikh Kamaluddin ‘Allama
  • Hazrat Shaykh al-Masha’ikh Sirajuddin
  • Hazrat Shaykh al-Masha’ikh ‘Ilmuddin
  • Hazrat Shaykh al-Masha’ikh Mahmud Rajan
  • Hazrat Shaykh al-Masha’ikh Jamaluddin Jamman
  • Hazrat Shaykh al-Masha’ikh Hasan Muhammad
  • Hazrat Shaykh al-Masha’ikh Muhammad Azam
  • Hazrat Shaykh al-Masha’ikh Yahya Madani
  • Hazrat Shaykh al-Masha’ikh Shah Kalimullah Jahanabadi
  • Hazrat Shaykh al-Masha’ikh Nizamuddin Aurangabadi
  • Hazrat Shaykh al-Masha’ikh Maulana Fakhruddin
  • Hazrat Shaykh al-Masha’ikh Ghulam Qutbuddin
  • Hazrat Shaykh al-Masha’ikh Nasiruddin Mahmud Kali Shah
  • Hazrat Shaykh al-Masha’ikh Muhammad Hasan Jili Kalimi
  • Hazrat Shaykh al-Masha’ikh Muhammad Abu Hashim Madani
  • Hazrat Pir-o-Murshid ‘Inayat Khan
  • Hazrat Pirzadi-Shahida Noor-un-Nisa-khanim Inayat Khan
  • Hazrat Pir Vilayat ‘Inayat Khan

(a similar version with slight differences can be viewed at

A beautiful calligraphy version is available from Hafizullah Chishti at

Please see also:

The Sufi Order of Rochester Center for Sufi Studies, 494 East Avenue, Rochester, NY 14607, the Carriage House behind the AAUW mansion (Carriage House is 492).